Morandini Ejection Video, Minor League News & Notes – Phillies Nation

Morandini Ejection Video, Minor League News & Notes

The Class A Lakewood BlueClaws lost in controversial fashion on Sunday evening, dropping their series finale against the Hagerstown Suns (Nationals affiliate), by a score of 7-6, in front of 5,457 fans at Lakewood’s FirstEnergy Park.

In the bottom of the 8th inning, trailing 7-5 with the bases loaded and 1 out, Lakewood second baseman Carlos Perdomo laced a low liner toward Hagerstown shortstop Jason Martinson.  In a fashion that Phillies fans are used to seeing, when Chase Utley, on occasion, allows such hits in similar situations to drop so he can attempt to double up baserunners, Martinson did not catch the ball on the fly and immediately flipped the ball to second base for a force out on the runner from first base.  Outfielder Brian Pointer, who was on second base, retreated to the bag with the assumption the liner would be caught. A throw to third base then drew the call from the umpiring crew for the second out. The umps then ruled that the runner at second had been tagged, off the base, and credited Lakewood with having scored a run between the time the force out was recorded and the imaginary tag out of Pointer was made.

BlueClaws manager Mickey Morandini then gave the umpires, Charlie Tierney and Doug Del Bello, a considerable ear full.  Morandini lashed out at the blundering duo until he was ejected from the contest.  Video of that exchange can be seen in the media player below.

The loss was Lakewood’s 5th in the 6-game set against Hagerstown.

In Sunday’s game, 21-year-old right-hander Ramon Oviedo took the loss, allowing 7 earned runs in 5 innings pitched.  Oviedo had allowed just 1 run in 6 innings in his Class A debut last Tuesday.  Additionally, on offense, Pointer (7) and Kelly Dugan (4) each homered for the BlueClaws.

Several transactions involving Lakewood…

Josh Warner, who was added to the roster on Saturday, to start one end of the club’s double header (2nd DH in 3 days) for Lakewood, will return to extended spring training.  Infielder Gustavo Gonzalez and catcher Logan Moore are also headed to extended spring training.

Lefty pitcher Mario Hollands has been promoted to Class A Advanced Clearwater.

Starting pitcher Ervis Manzanillo will be activated from Lakewood’s disabled list.

20-year-old infielder Alejandro Villalobos will join the BlueClaws from extended spring training.

Catcher John Hill, a 19th round draft pick from 2011, will be added to the Lakewood roster from Clearwater.

More notes…

Outfielder, Zach Collier, who was suspended for the first 50 games of the 2012 season following a positive test result for banned substances last year, is slated to return to action this week.  Collier is expected to be activated on the Class A Advanced Clearwater Threshers roster, once he is cleared to play.

Reading outfielder Tyson Gillies is reportedly day-to-day with a left wrist contusion with no disabled list stint expected.  The injury occurred in Reading’s match up with Harrisburg on Saturday, when Gillies collided with teammate Jiwan James, while fielding a fly ball.  Gillies successfully made the catch.  While at a hospital to be examined on Saturday night, Gillies informed that he  felt he’d be okay.


Jay Floyd is PhilliesNation’s minor league insider. You can read more from Jay by visiting his site,

Click to comment


  1. Stuart

    May 28, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Lakewood was in the field, how did they score a run? Honestly these articles must be written by children. Do these people even think before they write? I am so sick of reading these posts by amateurs. I could write better articles that make more sense and have less grammar issues with my eyes closed. On to Crashburn I go!

    • Ryne Duren

      May 28, 2012 at 10:47 am

      yea stuart as i was reading this article i had to backtrack and read that part over again! i thought i might have missed something. then after i reread it i though….WTF ! then i had to watch the video! still i thought am i losing it or missing something? then i read your post and a big whew! i felt better that someone else noticed that screw up.
      watching a phils game a week or so ago t-bag made a coment at the end of the game that made me scream at the tv… he was discribing at the end of the game roundup what a particular player did . he said the player (a phil) had a run scored and an rbi! he didn’t have a homer that game. it’s not odd that a player can do that but the difference was the phillies had scored only one run and lost the game! so how in god’s name is it posible that could happen? what he was discribing was the phils had 2 runs! again WTF

    • Jay Floyd

      May 28, 2012 at 11:15 am

      There is nothing in the piece that says Lakewood was on defense, but there are multiple references to them being on offense.

      While it’s certainly a difficult situation to describe, I don’t see big time grammar issues in the article.

      As for calling me an amateur, I’m a published writer. Thanks for your feedback.

      • Stuart

        May 29, 2012 at 6:44 am

        Wouldn’t call a blog published. I could start a blog and say I am a published writer, and if you write anywhere else, not finding it online so must not be too popular or too established. If you are not a professional paid writer, you are an amateur, thats the definition. Most blog writers are amateur, but the way you handled that comment and wrote that article, your amateur colors are showing strong.

    • Ryan Dinger

      May 28, 2012 at 11:53 am

      Where exactly does it say Lakewood was in the field? The first sentence from the paragraph states pretty clearly that the play being described started with Perdomo (who plays 2B for Lakewood) hitting a low line drive. To quote it, “In the bottom of the 8th inning, trailing 7-5 with the bases loaded and 1 out, Lakewood second baseman Carlos Perdomo laced a low liner toward Hagerstown shortstop Jason Martinson.” In that same paragraph, it is also noted that Lakewood outfielder Brian Pointer was on second base–effectively reaffirming the fact that Lakewood was batting during the frame.

      Perhaps you were confused by the comparison of Hagerstown SS Jason Martinson to Chase Utley?

  2. Jonathan Nisula

    May 28, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Stuart, not sure if you’re trolling or just blindly bashing one of our best writers.

  3. LCMRSalazar85

    May 28, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Ya think he called Bowa for some tips?

  4. Brian Michael

    May 28, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Makes sense to me. I like seeing Morandini stand up for the team when he’s obviously right.

  5. Kieran Carobine

    May 28, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Stuart, I am not sure where all the confusion is coming from. If you read the article it is pretty clear, to me, what was happening in the game. It is impossible for Lakewood to be fielding when they are at the plate hitting. No biggie, it is a simple mistake.

  6. Ian Riccaboni

    May 28, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    Are we 100% sure they weren’t both hitting AND fielding? How can we know for sure @Jay?!

  7. Stuart

    May 29, 2012 at 6:41 am

    Not trolling, been on this blog almost since the start. But if you look at the articles over this past season compared to years past there are a lot, and I mean a lot of issues. People have noticed it on other articles and then I read this post and watch the video and Lakewood is clearly in the field so what am I to think? He argued 5 minutes after the play when Lakewood was in the field? The description is confusing and then when you watch the video it gets even more confusing.

    Also, sweet response by the actual writer, real class, real professionalism. Usually if someone called out a Pat or some one who actually is a great writer, he would correct the mistake or try and make it more clear and usually apologize, like a professional. Where have all the good writers gone on this blog?

  8. Jay Floyd

    May 29, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    Stuart, you claim to be a fan of baseball, one that reads about it often. Surely, then, you should be able to recognize that when a third out is recorded teams switch offense/defense. If you see Lakewood players ready to man a position in the field during Morandini’s tirade, that is because players had taken the field after the inning ended.

    Even though the problem here is now clearly a simple oversight by you, I won’t insult you, or your friends, multiple times. I won’t demand an apology. I won’t imply that you are unprofessional. You see, people just aren’t perfect and that is okay. Cheers to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Phillies Nation has been bringing Phillies fans together since 2004 with non-stop news, analysis, trade rumors, trips, t-shirts, and other fun stuff!

Browse the Archives

Browse by Category

Copyright Phillies Nation, LLC 2004-2016
Not Affiliated with Major League Baseball or the Philadelphia Phillies

To Top