Phillies Nation


Idea Of MVP Award Makes It Hard To Rally Behind

In his blog, Todd Zolecki rails on Nationals beat writer Rich Campbell from the Fredericksburg (Va.) Free Lance Star about leaving Ryan Howard off his 2008 National League Most Valuable Player ballot.


(By the way, that’s an official word now.)

I understand getting all pent up about MVP voting and such, but I don’t. And it’s not even the post-World Series euphoria talking. I just don’t get riled up about these BBWAA awards. Especially the MVP, since you can define the award like 10 ways, and each sportswriter chooses a different way to define it. Either it’s most valuable to his team, or most value in the league, or best player, or best player on a playoff team, or whatever. It’s just useless to debate it all.

For those of you wondering anyway (which might be four of you), my ballot for NL MVP is:

1. Albert Pujols / 2. Ryan Howard / 3. David Wright / 4. Manny Ramirez / 5. Chipper Jones / 6. Brad Lidge / 7. Johan Santana / 8. Hanley Ramirez / 9. Lance Berkman / 10. Chase Utley

But I’m no voter. Only 32 guys vote. Flawed system? Absolutely. Something to worry about? Meh.

Phillies Nation has been bringing Phillies fans together since 2004 with non-stop news, analysis, trade rumors, trips, t-shirts, and other fun stuff!

Browse the Archives

Browse by Category

Copyright Phillies Nation, LLC 2004-2021
Not Affiliated with Major League Baseball or the Philadelphia Phillies

To Top