Phillies Nation


Marlins’ Sanabia Gets Away with Clear Spitball

Not clear in the sense that his phlegm is clear because his allergies aren’t an issue; clear in the sense that seconds after Domonic Brown hit a home run, Sanabia hocked a loogie on the baseball in plain view of the cameras.

According to the rulebook, which these days is used more as a guideline than anything, it says:

Rule 8.02: The pitcher shall not — (2) expectorate on the ball, either hand or his glove;

Take a look, should he have been tossed?

(Thanks Fangraphs)

Phillies Nation has been bringing Phillies fans together since 2004 with non-stop news, analysis, trade rumors, trips, t-shirts, and other fun stuff!

Browse the Archives

Browse by Category

Copyright Phillies Nation, LLC 2004-2021
Not Affiliated with Major League Baseball or the Philadelphia Phillies

To Top