Carlos Ruiz pitched last night, and struck a guy out

Let’s check in with former Phillie Carlos Ruiz, who-






Okay then.

Ruiz was called to pitch in the eighth inning Tuesday against the Twins, who were leading 19-6 against Seattle. Minnesota’s Eddie Rosario greeted Chooch with a home run, then Ehire Adrianza walked. Chris Gimenez hit what looked like another home run, but the umpires called double. After review, that call was upheld, signaling a turning point in Chooch’s pitching career.

With men on second and third and no out, Chooch buckled down and induced an infield pop from Robbie Grossman. Then he walked Max Kelper to load the bases.

But Ruiz has ice in his veins. Get this: He STRUCK OUT KENNYS VARGAS. Not only that, but the last strike was called, a beautiful fastball riding on the inside part of the plate but just in the strike zone. Very … ahem … Halladay-esque.

Then Ruiz induced a groundout fromĀ Eduardo Escobar.

All hail Chooch, who with his 9.00 ERA has a better 2017 MLB ERA than Clay Buchholz.

Watch the video here.

Phillies Nation has been bringing Phillies fans together since 2004 with non-stop news, analysis, trade rumors, trips, t-shirts, and other fun stuff!

Browse the Archives

Browse by Category

Copyright Phillies Nation, LLC 2004-2021
Not Affiliated with Major League Baseball or the Philadelphia Phillies

To Top